Friday Free-For-All: Catalogs and Caterpillars

12 Aug

It’s been a busy week around the office and the house, so I haven’t done much nesting worth posting about this week. One bit of excitement this week happened though: the delivery of the 2012 IKEA catalog.

If you couldn’t guess just from looking at our last decorating project, my husband and I totally geek out over IKEA stuff. We’re both big fans of modern design, and when you pair that with ethical business practices and incredible prices, we can’t help but be fans of those clever, flat-packing Swedes.

I admit I haven’t had time yet to fully devour this year’s catalog. However, I am already loving the theme of this year’s catalog, “A Home Doesn’t Need to Be Big, Just Smart.” That sounds like exactly the kind of design philosophy me and my < 1,000 square foot home are looking for. I’ll tell you more about my favorites soon, but for now check out some otherĀ  bloggers’ summaries of the highlights of this year’s catalog.

Speaking of catalogs, I also got a Pottery Barn Kids in the mail this week, and I swooned over their new Eric Carle-inspired line of product. If the name Eric Carle isn’t familiar to you, the names of his books will certainly be: The Very Hungry Caterpillar; Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?; and the Very Busy Spider. All these books are some of ‘Lil Buddy’s favorites right now. He’s drawn like a magnet to the colorful illustrations, and he loves to look at the books and sometimes pat the pages. These books are so friendly and charming, I can only imagine a nursery or pre-schooler’s room themed around them would be too.

Readers, what catalogs have you been loving lately? What is your favorite idea or itemĀ  from the 2012 IKEA catalog? Tell me all about it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

