Runner’s World Summer Running Streak #RWRunStresk

29 May

If you ask most runners about their favorite time of year to run, few would mention summer. Whether its the heat, the humidity, the lack of races (especially longer distances) or all the schedule disruptions from vacations and holidays, summer is a time of year when even the most dedicated runner’s willpower melts like ice cream in the sun.

That’s why I was so excited to hear about Runner’s World Magazine’s summer running streak. I’ve been battling a case of the summer lazies myself lately, so this simple challenge was just what I needed.

The challenge itself is straightforward: run at least one mile everyday from Memorial Day through Independence Day. Since good habits come from repetition, the streak should be a great way of making running a part of every day.

Want to join in the fun? Visit Runner’s World for complete details and don’t forget to tweet or blog along with us using the hashtagĀ  #RWRunStreak.

4 Responses to “Runner’s World Summer Running Streak #RWRunStresk”

  1. Jan Scott (@janscott75) May 29, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    I’m doing the streak too, and looking forward to it motivating me to run through the hot summer months!

    • dixiejulep May 29, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      That’s great! I think hearing from other Twitter users and bloggers doing the streak adds to the fun!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Lauren May 29, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    Ambitious! I find that I it’s just too much for me if I don’t take a day off each week, but I will be running through the summer 6 days a week!

    • dixiejulep May 30, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      I normally love my rest day too, but I think I’ll be reducing my total weekly mileage, so hopefully it’ll even out. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

