Nest: Nursery Mood Boards Set One “Sweet and Playful”

15 Sep

After writing the little nursery design manifesto I posted last weekend, I felt very inspired to really dig into the nursery’s design. I had such a variety of inspirations and themes that it was difficult to decide where to begin, so I decided to make up several mood boards, using the nifty mood board creator on olioboard.com.

By the end of the weekend, I had a total of nine mood boards, with inspirations ranging from the traditional to the offbeat. To avoid making this a marathon of a blog post, I’m going to break the mood boards up into three sets.

Without further ado, here’s set one of my nursery mood boards. This group of boards features some sweet and playful themes. Of the boards I’ve created, these three are, perhaps, the most childlike or whimsical in theme.

Board #1: Modern Meadow

This board was inspired by a pretty traditional source, a set of crib bedding we spotted at Babies ‘R Us. While I don’t plan to use a bumper or bed skirt, the blanket and valance from the series set the tone for this board. To avoid making it too babyish, I selected some simple, clean-lined furniture from Ikea, then echoed the bedding’s meadow motif with some lovely modern botanical prints from Etsy.

Board #2: Summer Orchard

This theme grew naturally from some of our early color choices. The fresh green and bright red, naturally called to mind the colors of an orchard, and when I spotted these green, gold and red curtains from Ikea, I knew I had to build a mood board around them.

The natural finish of the Ikea dresser and the West Elm side table help bring together the outdoorsy feel, while the Orla Kiely-esque apple print from Etsy brings in the orchard motif in a modern way.

 

Board #3: Puppies and Primaries

Primary colors are a natural–albeit somewhat expected–choice for a little boy’s room. I decided to go for very playful, childlike accent pieces, like this Ikea nightstand and lamp and JCPenney locker. I also managed to incorporate these modern dog and cat prints from Etsy, which I fell in love with a while ago and have been itching to use somewhere. (For the mood board, I quickly selected prints that matched the color scheme, but in the real nursery, I would order custom prints with my pets’ breeds–weimaraner, cairn terrier and short-haired cat.)

Now that set one is complete, readers, I would love to hear your feedback both on which boards you like the best and on how some of them could be refined to take them to the next level. So, if you like (or hate!) what you see, please post a comment in the comments below.

7 Responses to “Nest: Nursery Mood Boards Set One “Sweet and Playful””

  1. Ed September 20, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I think ‘Summer Orchard’ is my favorite of these. I especially like the tree stump side table. Although I like the ‘Puppies and Primaries’ board any kiddie themed rooms will, by necessity, need to be redecorated again in a few years. Why do that to yourself?

  2. small white bedside tables July 9, 2014 at 12:32 am #

    Quality articles is the important to interest
    the users to pay a visit the web site, that’s what this site is providing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nest: Nursery Mood Boards Set Two “Fresh and Modern” « Dixie Julep - September 17, 2010

    […] If you’re joining us for the first time, check out my introduction to the project and the previous round of boards here. This round has a theme of fresh and modern. Each of the boards is a modern take on […]

  2. Nest: Nursery Mood Boards Set Three “Bright and Exotic” « Dixie Julep - September 27, 2010

    […] is the third and final set of mood boards for the baby’s nursery. Check out the past ones here and here. This set has three very different themes, each one fun in its own […]

  3. Nest: And the Winning Mood Board Is … « Dixie Julep - October 18, 2010

    […] posted three sets of potential mood boards for our baby boy’s nursery in September, and the response from all […]

  4. The Big Reveal: Our Baby Boy’s “Modern Meadow” Nursery « Dixie Julep - December 28, 2010

    […] for our baby boy. Thank you to everyone who has followed us from our initial brainstorming, to three rounds of mood boards, to painting, and now, finally, today’s big […]

  5. Friday Free-for-All: Favorites « Dixie Julep - September 30, 2011

    […] Nursery Series: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5 and Part […]

Leave a Reply

