Look: Web Round-Up for Oct. 25

25 Oct

Wow, it’s been a whirlwind couple of weeks, and I haven’t gotten to spend nearly as much time blog-surfing and tweeting as normal, so I don’t have very many links for you this week. But what I lack in volume, hopefully, I make up for in variety in this edition of the web round-up.

  • First, Southern Living takes a “budget vacation” to Orlando. Although I love the theme parks and other famous attractions Central Florida has to offer, I personally enjoy showing visitors the lesser known side of my hometown, and Southern Living’s two-day itinerary covers a nice little cross-section of the area’s hidden gems.
  • Next, Sweet Iced Tea–a blog I could love for their name alone–has an entire post dedicated to bacon, the world’s most perfect food. Lots of interesting bacon trivia and cooking tips for bacon-vores.
  • Pet shopping blog Phetched is always full of fun, drool-worthy goodies, but I was especially smitten by their recent post about Crypton’s new line of William Wegman-designed dog beds. Alas, they’re quite out of my price-range for the time-being, but really lovely, don’t you think?
  • Finally, in honor of Pit Bull Awareness Day, which was Saturday, I’m posting an oldie but goodie: the Find the Pitbull Quiz. One of the problems with breed bans is that people have a hard time identifying “pit bulls” from other breeds or breed mixes. Trust me; it’s harder than it looks. I consider myself quite a dog fancier and it took me about five tries to get it right. Go take the quiz and let me know: how many tries did you take?
2 Responses to “Look: Web Round-Up for Oct. 25”

  1. Ginger October 25, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Hey there… glad you liked our post on bacon! Thanks for sharing us!

    • dixiejulep October 28, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

      My pleasure! I love sharing blogs I enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

