Time for a Closet Makeover

21 Jun

Sometimes you get to choose your home improvement projects. Other times they choose you. My newest project is definitely the latter of the two.

Sometime in the wee hours of the morning today, the shelf and hanging bar in my closet came crashing down, dumping my entire wardrobe onto the bedroom floor. Our master bedroom is already the least organized, least decorated space in the house. I suppose a giant heap of clothes and handbags was just the icing on the cake.

Oddly enough, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about both reorganizing my closet space and paring down my wardrobe. I guess this is the kick in the pants I needed.

Ok, dear readers, do you have a favorite tip or system for cleaning out your closets or for setting up an organized wardrobe? Suggestions welcomed in the comments below. Thanks!

2 Responses to “Time for a Closet Makeover”

  1. dressingmyself June 22, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    This is my strategy:
    Work out how many summer clothes and winter clothes you need. (Not want, need). Pare down your wardrobe to meet these needs.
    Find storage space for your out of season clothes.
    You should then be able to fit your current season wardrobe into your bedroom – and hang garments so that you can see them.
    Good luck.

    • dixiejulep June 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      I agree. I absolutely need to edit my wardrobe, so this is a good time to do it before I put everything back in the closet. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

