Race Recap: Fit Generation Stroller Roll

9 Nov

I am training for my first half-marathon in December, but in between all the must-do training runs, I think it’s nice to do a race that’s just for fun now and then. The Parenting Magazine Fit Generation 5K and Stroller Roll on Oct. 1 fit the bill perfectly. The event featured a chip-timed 5K, an untimed 5K stroller roll, kids races and a family festival after the race. The starting and finish line and the festival were hosted at the Winter Park Village shopping center in Winter Park, Fla.

This was a fun and well-organized event, so I was kind of shocked at how small the crowd was. It definitely allowed a lot of extra elbow room on the course, which wasn’t a bad thing for those of us weilding a stroller, but I hope more people will come out next year to keep the event going strong.

At the time, this was the longest I had ever jogged with the stroller, and the first time I raced with it, so I decided not to worry about time and instead to keep a comfortable pace and enjoy myself. ‘Lil Buddy seemed to enjoy the scenery through the first mile or so, then he fell asleep and napped until we crossed the finish line. We ended up finishing in 35 minutes, 21 seconds. That’s certainly a bit slower than my normal 5K pace, but I was happy considering it’s faster than I ran my first 5K without a stroller just a couple years ago.

Celebrating at the finish line with a very sleepy 'Lil Buddy

The party after the race was just as much fun as the stroller roll. Local restaurants served up great free food, there was live entertainment, contests and a chance to meet some great local businesses. I even discovered a store in the shopping center, called Learning Express, that has an amazing selection of Melissa and Doug wood toys, and I got a jump on Christmas shopping for ‘Lil Buddy.

All in all it was a wonderful family-friendly event, and I’m so glad we attended. Thanks to all the businesses that participated and made it such a memorable day.

Leave a Reply

