Y3W: Thirteen Point One

2 Dec

Tomorrow is my first half-marathon, and I feel like a kid on Christmas Eve. Or maybe a teenager the night before the SATs. Or, more likely, a little of both.
The actual training plan for a half-marathon is only 12 weeks, but I feel like I’ve been training much longer than that. First, I had to get back in shape after pregnancy sidelined me for several months. Then, I started training in July for my first 15K, a big stepping stone toward my half. All the preparation was valuable, but I do think the amount of time invested in one pursuit makes me more nervous about the outcome. Fortunately, I do not have any specific time goals. My only goal is to finish … Well, to finish and to have a good time doing it!

I’m trying hard to ward off the cold everyone in my house seems to be fighting this week, and I’m planning a hearty dinner and hoping for a decent night’s sleep. Otherwise, I’m as ready as I’ll ever be, so here we go. And hopefully, the next thing you see on this blog will be a kick-butt race recap!

Wish me luck, and don’t forget to check out this week’s “Your Three Words” posts over at Jenni from the Blog.

2 Responses to “Y3W: Thirteen Point One”

  1. Lauren December 3, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Good luck! I think you’re going to have a blast!

    • dixiejulep December 5, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks for the well-wishes! I had an amazing time! Hope to post a recap soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

