Jason Wu for Target Review

27 Feb

Target has been releasing some great limited-edition fashion collections in recent years, and their recent collaboration with designer Jason Wu may be one of their best to-date. Not surprisingly, the collection sold out very quickly, but I had a chance to shop it when it hit stores on Feb. 5.

As a mom of a toddler, I take my sleep very seriously, so I did not stay up to shop the collection at midnight. By the time I logged on to the Target website at 8 a.m., all the pieces I was interested in were sold out or listed as in stores only, so I decided to head out to my local Target store that afternoon.

I was surprised to see that my local store only had two small racks dedicated to the collection, and I was unsurprised to see they were mostly empty already. I talked to one of the associates who said that not every store (or every city, for that matter) gets the entire collection, so I wouldn’t be surprised if some of the pieces I liked were never in the store at all. I do wish Target would more evenly distribute these capsule collections so everyone at least had a shot at buying the pieces they liked.

On the bright side, most of the pieces they had left were in my size, so I got to try on several items.

I tried on the dot-print shirt dress first. The fit wasn’t bad, but the very straight lines and narrow shoulders didn’t do much for my already boyish figure, so it wasn’t a keeper.

Image Courtesy of Target.com

Next, I tried the sleeveless top with sheer panel. I had to size up in this one based on availability, but because of the sheer panel, that was a no go. It looks super cute standing up straight, but if I leaned over you could see straight down my shirt. Too bad! It would have been cute otherwise.

Image Courtesy of Target.com

Finally, I tried on the pleated skirt and the short-sleeve shirt with tie. The pleated skirt seemed very nicely made–perhaps, the nicest piece in the collection–but I already have (no exaggeration) at least half a dozen plain black skirts, so back it went. On the other hand, I really liked the blush-colored tee. It looks great tucked into a black pencil skirt, and I think it will be cute un-tucked over jeans.

Image Courtesy of Target.com

Image Courtesy of Target.com

So, I ended up with one item, but it’s a good basic that I should be able to enjoy using this spring.

Did you shop the Jason Wu for Target collection? What do you think about Target’s designer collaborations? Tell me all about it down in the comments!

Leave a Reply

